Episode 59 with J. Robbins

Robbins began his career as a bassist for Government Issue, and has also led five of his own bands: Jawbox, Rollkicker Laydown, Burning Airlines, Channels, and Office of Future Plans. He was a touring bassist for Scream and played bass on the debut 7″ from Jack Potential, which was issued by DeSoto Records in 1993. More recently he played bass in Report Suspicious Activity with Vic Bondi, which released two albums on Alternative Tentacles Records.

In 2011, Robbins, along with Kerosene 454‘s drummer and fellow Channels bandmate Darren Zentek, bassist Brooks Harlan, and guitarist/cellist Gordon Withers, released an EP under the name Office of Future Plans. The band, who had been playing since 2009 and released an album on Dischord Records in November 2011, but as of October 2016, they are not together anymore. In May 31, 2019, J. Robbins released his first solo album, Un-Becoming.

Robbins is also a successful producer and engineer for bands such as PonytailClutch (and side project The Bakerton Group), Jets to BrazilHey MercedesShinerMock OrangeThe PausesThe Life and Times, Miranda Sound, Time Spent Driving, FaraquetThe Dismemberment Plan, The Monorchid, The Promise RingDwindlePilot to GunnerPaint It BlackNone More BlackJawbreakerDiscountAgainst Me!, Goodbye Soundscape, Modern Life is WarStapletonMurder By DeathmewithoutYou, Black Cross (hardcore), Lemuria, Caustic Casanova, The Sword, Debate (from Sao Paulo, Brazil), ColiseumHammer No More the FingersSmall Brown Bike, Broadcaster, Noyo Mathis and Nakatomi Plaza.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *